Member News Of Note

Kevin J. Miller wanted everyone to know about a special event: “A short play I wrote, “A Dagger in Your Mind,” will be online September 2, 1 PM, Greater Chicagoland time. The venue is Congress Theatre Cwmbran, YouTube and Facebook.”

Member News Of Note

All of us at OWW are thrilled to announce that Fran Wilde’s novel Riverland is the winner of this year’s Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction. Major congratulations from all of us.

Yay, Fran!

Member News Of Note

The finalists for the 2020 Locus awards have been announced. OWW alumni continue to be recognized for excellence and as some of the best in the field of Science Fiction and Fantasy. Huge congratulations to all of you and good luck!

  • Best Science Fiction Novel
  • Ancestral Night by Elizabeth Bear
  • Best Novella
  • A Time To Reap by Elizabeth Bear
  • Best Novelette
  • Erase, Erase, Erase by Elizabeth Bear
  • Emergency Skin–N.K. Jemisin
  • Best Short Story
  • Lest We Forget by Elizabeth Bear
  • A Catalogue Of Storms by Fran Wilde
  • Best Collection
  • Of Wars, and Memories, and Starlight by Alliette de Bodard
  • Best Editor
  • Charles Coleman Finlay




Member News Of Note

OWW alumni continue to accumulate award nominations and be recognized for their outstanding work. This year’s Hugo finalists include:

Best Novelette: Emergency Skin by N. K. Jemisin

Best Short Story: “A Catalog Of Storms” by Fran Wilde

Best Editor Short Form: Charles Coleman Finlay

Lodestar Award for Best Young Adult Novel: Fran Wilde

Best of luck to all of you!

Member News Of Note

OWW’s own Rhonda S. Garcia’s story “The Sun from Both Sides'” finished third in the Clarkesworld Readers’ Poll for Best Story of 2019!

Congratulations, Rhonda!

Member News Of Note

Finalists for the 2019 World Fantasy Award were announced today, and OWW continues to produce some of the best writers and editors in the field. Among the finalists are:

Best Novel: C.L. Polk Witchmark 

Best Novella: Alliette de Bodard The Tea Master and the Detective

Best Collection: Amanda Downum Still So Strange

Best Collection: N.K. Jemisin How Long ’til Black Future Month?

Special Award, Professional: C. C. Finlay, for F&SF editing

Congratulations to all of you!


Member News Of Note

Finalists for the 2019 Locus Awards have been announced, and OWW alums are in the running.

C. L. Polk’s novel Witchmark is nominated for the First Novel Award.

Alliette de Bodard’s novella The Tea Master and the Detective is nominated for Best Novella.

Elizabeth Bear’s story “Okay, Glory” is nominated for Best Novelette.

N. K. Jemisin’s stories “Cuisine des Mémoires” and “The Storyteller’s Replacement” are both nominated for Best Short Story.

And N. K. Jemisin’s short story collection How Long ’til Black Future’s Month? is nominated for the Collection award.

Winners will be announced during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle WA, June 28-30, 2019. Congratulations and best of luck to everyone nominated!