On The Shelves

Any Sign Of Life by Rae Carson (Green Willow Books, October 2021)  When a teenage girl thinks she may be the only person left alive in her town—maybe in the whole world—she must rely on hope, trust, and her own resilience. A harrowing and pulse-pounding survival story from New York Times–bestselling author Rae Carson.  Paige Miller is […]

On The Shelves

A Desert Torn Asunder (Song of Shattered Sands Book 6) by Brad Beaulieu (DAW July 2021)  The final book in The Song of the Shattered Sands series closes the epic fantasy saga in a desert setting, filled with rich worldbuilding and pulse-pounding action. The plans of the desert gods are coming to fruition. Meryam, the […]

On The Shelves

The Ship Of Stolen Words by Fran Wilde (Amulet Books June, 2021)  No matter how much trouble Sam gets in, he knows that he can always rely on his magic word, “sorry,” to get him out of a pinch. Teasing his little sister too much? Sorry! Hurt someone’s feelings in class? Sorry! Forgot to do […]

On The Shelves

Trouble In The Stars by Sarah Prineas (Philomel Books April, 2021) Trouble knows two things: they are a shapeshifter, and they are running from something–but they don’t know what. So when the StarLeague shows up, Trouble figures it’s time to flee. Changing from blob of goo form, to adorable puppy form, to human boy form, […]

On The Shelves

 Fire Heart Tiger by Alliette de Bodard (Tordotcom February 2021) Fire burns bright and has a long memory…. Quiet, thoughtful princess Thanh was sent away as a hostage to the powerful faraway country of Ephteria as a child. Now she’s returned to her mother’s imperial court, haunted not only by memories of her first romance, […]

On The Shelves

The Midnight Bargain by C. L. Polk (Erewhon October 2020)  Beatrice Clayborn is a sorceress who practices magic in secret, terrified of the day she will be locked into a marital collar that will cut off her powers to protect her unborn children. She dreams of becoming a full-fledged Magus and pursuing magic as her […]

On The Shelves

Machine (A White Space Novel) by Elizabeth Bear (Saga Press October 2020) In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after […]

On The Shelves

Seven of Infinities by Alliette de Bodard (Subterranean October 2020)  Vâumflex;n is a scholar from a poor background, eking out a living in the orbitals of the Scattered Pearls Belt as a tutor to a rich family, while hiding the illegal artificial mem-implant she manufactured as a student. Sunless Woods is a mindship—and not just any mindship, […]

On The Shelves

Divine Heretic by Jaime Lee Moyer (Jo Fletcher Books August 2020) Everyone knows the story of Joan of Arc, a peasant girl who put Charles VII on the throne and spearheaded France’s victory over Britain before being burned by the English as a heretic and witch. But things are not always as they appear. Jeanne […]

On The Shelves

When Jackals Storm the Walls (Song of Shattered Sands) by Bradley Beaulieu (Daw July 2020)  The reign of the kings of Sharakhai has been broken. The blood mage, Queen Meryam, now rules the city along with the descendants of the fabled twelve kings. In the desert, Çeda has succeeded in breaking the asirim’s curse. Those […]