On The Shelves

The Midnight Bargain by C. L. Polk (Erewhon October 2020)  Beatrice Clayborn is a sorceress who practices magic in secret, terrified of the day she will be locked into a marital collar that will cut off her powers to protect her unborn children. She dreams of becoming a full-fledged Magus and pursuing magic as her […]

On The Shelves

Machine (A White Space Novel) by Elizabeth Bear (Saga Press October 2020) In this compelling and addictive novel set in the same universe as the critically acclaimed White Space series and perfect for fans of Karen Traviss and Ada Hoffman, a space station begins to unravel when a routine search and rescue mission returns after […]

On The Shelves

Seven of Infinities by Alliette de Bodard (Subterranean October 2020)  Vâumflex;n is a scholar from a poor background, eking out a living in the orbitals of the Scattered Pearls Belt as a tutor to a rich family, while hiding the illegal artificial mem-implant she manufactured as a student. Sunless Woods is a mindship—and not just any mindship, […]

On The Shelves

Divine Heretic by Jaime Lee Moyer (Jo Fletcher Books August 2020) Everyone knows the story of Joan of Arc, a peasant girl who put Charles VII on the throne and spearheaded France’s victory over Britain before being burned by the English as a heretic and witch. But things are not always as they appear. Jeanne […]

On The Shelves

When Jackals Storm the Walls (Song of Shattered Sands) by Bradley Beaulieu (Daw July 2020)  The reign of the kings of Sharakhai has been broken. The blood mage, Queen Meryam, now rules the city along with the descendants of the fabled twelve kings. In the desert, Çeda has succeeded in breaking the asirim’s curse. Those […]

On The Shelves

My Calamity Jane by Jodi Meadows, Brodi Ashton and Cythnia Hand Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers, outlaws, and garou—better known as werewolves. And where there are garou, there’re hunters: the one and only Calamity Jane, to be precise, along with her fellow stars of Wild Bill’s Traveling Show, Annie Oakley and […]

On The Shelves

The Empire of Dreams by Rae Carson (Greenwillow Books April 2020) Red Sparkle Stone is a foundling orphan with an odd name, a veiled past, and a mark of magic in her hair. But finally―after years and years of running, of fighting―she is about to be adopted into the royal family by Empress Elisa herself. […]

On The Shelves

The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin Every great city has a soul. Some are as ancient as myths, and others are as new and destructive as children. New York City? She’s got six. But every city also has a dark side. A roiling, ancient evil stirs in the halls of power, threatening to destroy […]

On The Shelves

Stormsong (The Kingston Cycle book 2) by C.L. Polk (Tor.com, February 2020) Dame Grace Hensley helped her brother Miles undo the atrocity that stained her nation, but now she has to deal with the consequences. With the power out in the dead of winter and an uncontrollable sequence of winter storms on the horizon, Aeland […]

On The Shelves

  The Best Of Elizabeth Bear by Elizabeth Bear (Subterranean, January 2020) From the start of her career, Elizabeth Bear has been one of the most distinctive voices in modern speculative fiction. Her debut novel, Hammered, won the Locus Award for Best First Novel in 2005, the same year she received the John W. Campbell Award […]